Blengin

Eric & I were having dinner at a sushi place where an overhead TV was playing The Simpsons with the sound off. In the course of the episode, Lisa and another girl were in a folk art museum, and there were Simpson-styled versions of Henry Darger paintings on a wall. One of my favorite aspects of Darger’s epic work were creatures called Blengin–androgynous beings usually shown with ram’s horns and ornate butterfly wings:

As a source of inspiration, Blengin rear their horned heads in my own work from time to time. They were definitely in the back of my brain when I did this watercolor:

And even got a nod in this comic from June of 2005:

So that’s one of my influences, I guess you can say. Was nice to be reminded of it at dinner.

Leave a Reply

