Facebook Blast

Although my Facebook profile is friends only, I’m going to share the following exchange so there’s a clear public record of what was actually said and by who. Kind of like my own version of Lamebook, only without kree8tiv spelling or camwhore mirror shots:

Basically after I unfriended this guy he made his Facebook page completely unsearchable, for what I can only assume is the purpose of slagging and lying about what was actually said to any mutual acquaintances we may share in the online comics community. All I really can tell you about him is that he’s someone I’ve never met in person, but corresponded with through one of those mini-comics collectives where people swapped xeroxed books through the mail and such, SPS or one of those. I don’t know if any of them are still around even. Adam did run-of-the-mill sci-fi adventure type books, I don’t really remember a lot about them either. Kind of too fanboyish for the kind of thing I like to read.

Beyond that all I can say is that he appears to exhibit even less understanding of political ideologies than Jared Lee Laughner himself.

As for Laughner, having gone through everything on his YouTube page, I can say he appears to me to be schizophrenic or perhaps even schizo-affective. Although nothing has come out yet about his ever having received an official diagnosis, I’ve seen articles on science and psychology sites conjecturing the same thing. That said, he seems to be on a head trip that fits neither the current right or left wing of the American political spectrum. However, though the videos give plenty of information about what he feared/disliked about the government or religion, they gave no indications of what he actually did espouse. Dislike of the government you live under does not automatically equal anarchist. It could be a desire to instill another type of government, simply. Every revolution or coup on the planet, including the American Revolution, was done by somebody who did not like the governing body they were ruled by. None of them, to my knowledge, instituted a society run under the tenets of anarchism.

And lastly, as much as I detest Sarah Palin and her ilk, I do not agree with the idea of trying to pin this on any of the statements made or graphics used by her. First of all, so far he has not professed any sort of alignment with Palin. And more importantly, I just don’t want to go down that slippery slope. It’s not a far leap  from telling Palin she can’t use “hate rhetoric” to telling the rest of us that we can’t make that piece of art, listen to that song, assemble for that protest, play that violent video game, or what have you.

“I may not agree with what you say, but I’ll defend to the death your right to say it” – Voltaire

(However I won’t necessarily be your friend on Facebook.)

Leave a Reply

