What Aaron Was Doing In 2001

One of the first Too Negative strips ever:

This was done way before Sandy was also given horns and a tail an made a proper Hellion. Shit, when this was done Sandy didn’t even have a name. For that matter, neither did Aaron. He was just some weird combination of Scott McCloud’s “Understanding Comics” narrator, and Almost Every Single Boy At SPX at that point in time. Except for some reason I don’t even remember, I made him an amoeba. Like Aaron, indie comix themselves have changed somewhat since this was drawn. The overwrought “Look-at-me-I’m-so-sensitive” style of autobio narrative has been replaced with a sort of comfort-food indulgence in childhood nostalgia. Also, because “great” minds something-something-something I should mention that at the time I was unaware that there was a novel called “A Heartbreaking Work Of Staggering Genius”. I’ve read it since then, however. This comic appeared in the first issue of “Too Negative”, which had a cover that looked like this:

I had recently read Aleister Crowley’s “777” and was captivated by the phrase “the daughter fallen to play among the shells”. Without a big explanation of Qlipphoth, which I tend to grasp instinctively rather than as an intellectual concept, it seemed an apt description of this character in particular.

Oh wow, as I was typing that Mumia Abu Jamal is talking about Jay Z on the radio? Conspiracy Theorists, start your engines!

Leave a Reply

