La La Land -street harassment, Space Invaders, & The Ex

To be perfectly fair, I wasn’t sure which of the two of us this guy was yelling at. But really our responses work either way.

So happy to see The Ex because I first heard them on WFMU on one of those nights when I was diligently making a mixed tape off the radio (yeah, I’m old enough to have made a mixed tape off the radio) but no one else ever talked to me about them until I met Eric. I think on the mix tape they shared magnetized analog with Frank Zappa’s “Baby Snakes”, some ethereal sounding thing by St. Etienne, Dead Milkmen’s “Charles Nelson Reilly Orgy” (which always sounded more to me like Charles Manson Rally-Orgy), and that 80’s novelty song about the homecoming queen with a gun. One of these days I’ll figure out how to transfer cassettes to the iPod.

Another artist-lauding song, so of course I like it:

2 thoughts on “La La Land -street harassment, Space Invaders, & The Ex

    • That’s a way better title! I guess I don’t just mis-hear the lyrics on that one 🙂 Or maybe I just hear what I want to hear…truthfully? I’m not even totally sure who Charles Nelson Reilly is. I think he was a guy in the 1950’s who tripped over furniture? I have a vague memory of something like that being shown on Nick at Night TV re-runs.

      Like

Leave a Reply

