Underpainting with warm violet

Despite a lack of immediate safety and harm reduction in our environment, I’ve decided to stop practicing kicks and punches on an unfortunate hanging sandbag, and paint again. I mean paint PICTURES, not warlike verses on our door.

This is just the underpainting, so yeah, it’s flat. I blocked in the first building in a dark umber, then added a warm violet to give it a warmer reflective light with the sunset sky. I realize some of the sides of the buildings are too close in value to the sky; I’ll be deciding how I want to correct this. I want there to be a sort of subtly warm, comforting overall tone to this in it’s execution, despite what some may find ominous subject matter.

There are some who should find this ominous subject matter.

Leave a Reply

