3/28/11 – La La Land: Oxblood!

There’s really not much commentary I can add to this that isn’t already explained in the image. The front of the building and garage is painted black, and in comic form, rather than just leaving it this massive black field I played around with different textures in Photoshop, to break things up a bit. Although normally I like grafitti and have amassed quite a collection of pictures of street art that catches my eye, we didn’t need the city or cops mistaking us for a bunch of speed dealers. Or even worse, douchey hipster kids looking for excitement mistaking us for a bunch of speed dealers. Otherwise, grafitti comforts me, conjures up my earliest vague toddler memories of playgrounds and streets in Hell’s Kitchen, outside mi abeulos’ apartment.

Here’s what the actual thing looked like:

Huh. Odd that I remembered it as being red when I colored in the comic. I guess red is a tad more imposing than pale lavender.

Leave a Reply

