Blog For Mental Health 2014 pledge

Last year I got a lot out of doing and reading posts thanks to Canvas Of The Minds’ Blog For Mental Health Campaign. So I’m pledging to do it again this year.

“I pledge my commitment to the Blog for Mental Health 2014 Project. I will blog about mental health topics not only for myself, but for others. By displaying this badge, I show my pride, dedication, and acceptance for mental health. I use this to promote mental health education in the struggle to erase stigma.” 

So let’s see, to check in with why this interests me, and to recap for any new followers I’ve gained over the course of the past year who may or may not be aware of BFMH. I have a diagnosis of schizoaffective disorder with depressive features. I also have issues with anxiety, self injury, and erm…”self-medication”. Some might also say I have issues with anger, but personally I just see that as a combination of self-preservation and Paying Attention.

The constant in my life is the support of my wonderful husband Eric, who’s wrestling with his own past and issues have given him an empathy that few others possess, even if they are also well-intentioned and supportive. I do my best to return the favor to him, and be as supportive as I can. I’ve also benefitted from finding like-minded people such as those who participate in BFMH or involvement in Punks In Recovery, another grassroots movement spearheaded by Craig Lewis out of Boston. In the past year I’ve also entered into a city mental health/harm reduction program that offers individual counseling and group meetings. Though in the past I’ve advocated an anti-med stance due to bad experiences with certain psychiatrists and certain pills, I’m currently on some low-dose medications. I have some mixed feelings about this, especially since despite my hatred of anti-psychotics in the past I’ve also been kind of a pillhead regarding other stuff, but maybe I can explore that in future posts. It’s also one of the things I’m working through in recovery.

My spiritual practices as a Thelemite are also helpful. Though I won’t claim any sort of mastery yet, I’m inching (more like millimetering 🙂 ) toward that Middle Pillar ideal of balance. And it offers an approach that sits a little better with my personality than your average soft touchy-feely self-help book.

So anyway, that’s where I am, or where I’ve gotten in the past year, since the time I took the Blog For Mental Health pledge back in 2013. So here’s to another year of fighting stigma and Paying Attention! Love & Rage, everyone.

http://acanvasoftheminds.com/2014/01/07/blog-for-mental-health-2014/

6 thoughts on “Blog For Mental Health 2014 pledge

  1. You seem really awesome and remind me of me, so I’ll be following you. 🙂 Rock on to fighting stigma and Paying Attention! And good luck with everything. Punks in Recovery seems like a great community. Sort-of like Icarus Project I suppose. Ever heard of them? http://www.theicarusproject.net Mind if I ask what this mental health/harm reduction program is, cuz it sounds like something that would really help me? Have fun with your rats and cats (I have a rat named Moon and my other boy Squiggle recently passed, such wonderful animals).

    ❤ & Rage,
    ~Kit~

    Like

    • Hi, I’ve heard of the Icarus Project though I haven’t really had a chance to go to their meetings or work with them. The program I’m in is specific to NYC, if you send me an email I’ll talk more about it jennydevildoll @ gmail.com, there are reasons I feel a need not to publicly disclose exactly where I am. I’m sorry to hear about Squiggle passing, we had a rat named Luna, which is the same as Moon in Spanish!

      Like

  2. Pingback: Notes From The Devil Dollhaus | The Official Blog For Mental Health Project

  3. Pingback: BLOGGING FOR MENTAL HEALTH – LIKE MY LIFE DEPENDS ON IT | Phoenix Fights

Leave a Reply

