In Memory Of Maggie Estep

That piece was right up my alley, was it not?

Word came out today that Maggie Estep died last night. I was waiting to see the psychiatrist when I got the message from Eric, who’d gotten the call from a mutual friend. The current psych is particularly interested in my depressive moods and noted right away that I seemed “subdued”, and I had to explain that it was with a cause other than chemical. It was the loss of another of those New York voices, one with a feminism tinged with darkly sardonic humor, which goes down easier for me than forever analyzing and over-analyzing what may or may not be “problematic”. (I’m still sure my whole existence is “problematic”. And so is yours. And yours, too.)

Tongue-in-cheek cutting through the bullshit:

Leave a Reply

