Maya Angelou On “Normal”

Ok, I know I’ve threatened to do a blog post on why I’ve never connected to the desire some mental health bloggers express to “just be/feel normal”, how normalcy is a culturally subjective thing, how our collective notions of an ideal “normal” are in part manufactured to maintain status quo & feed our insecurities, tiki tiki tiki tiki… but since Maya Angelou is a better writer than I am, she pretty much summed it up in this one line.

Thanks to my friend Brooke who found this image and sent it to me tonight.

Leave a Reply

