These Lines Jumped At Me

…from today’s reading for the Thelemic Holy Season, Liber LXV Ch. V

8 Thou hast come hither, O my prophet, through grave paths. Thou hast eaten of the dung of the Abominable Ones; thou hast prostrated thyself before the Goat and the Crocodile; the evil men have made thee a plaything; thou hast wandered as a painted harlot, ravishing with sweet scent and Chinese colouring, in the streets; thou hast darkened thine eyepits with Kohl; thou hast tinted thy lips with vermilion; thou hast plastered thy cheeks with ivory enamels. Thou hast played the wanton in every gate and by-way of the great city. The men of the city have lusted after thee to abuse thee and to beat thee. They have mouthed the golden spangles of fine dust wherewith thou didst bedeck thine hair; they have scourged the painted flesh of thee with their whips; thou hast suffered unspeakable things.
9 But I have burnt within thee as a pure flame without oil. In the midnight I was brighter than the moon; in the daytime I exceeded utterly the sun; in the byways of of thy being I inflamed, and dispelled the illusion.
10 Therefore thou art wholly pure before Me; therefore thou art My virgin unto eternity.
11 Therefore I love thee with surpassing love; therefore they that despise thee shall adore thee.
12 Thou shalt be lovely and pitiful toward them; thou shalt heal them of the unutterable evil.
13 They shall change in their destruction, even as two dark stars that crash together in the abyss, and blaze up in an infinite burning.

Not that I’m very “lovely and pitiful” towards the various predatory types this passage makes me remember, but if healing them of the unutterable evil involves their destruction, even as two dark stars crashing in the abyss, ok, I can work with the in my current state of personal evolution…

Then later comes this:

In Her blood I inscribe the secret riddles of the Sphinx of the Gods, that none shall understand, — save only the pure and voluptuous, obscene, the androgyne and the gynander that have passed beyond the bars of the prison that the old Slime of Khem set up in the Gates of Amennti.

Pan, in it’s sense as all, is Unity, and within this unity containing all things, a “gender binary” is only an illusion, a lie of separateness. I know biologically I inhabit a female body, in it’s form and function, but beyond that? All the interests, passions and activities assigned as “masculine” or “feminine” are socially constructed delusions.

The card for today is the Hierophant, which incidentally, is the Era we just entered with this past Vernal Equinox. The Hierophant signifies among other things, the inner teacher, reflection growth and wisdom. It’s about getting right with yourself.

9 But I have burnt within thee as a pure flame without oil. In the midnight I was brighter than the moon; in the daytime I exceeded utterly the sun; in the byways of of thy being I inflamed, and dispelled the illusion.

While the other pieces in this entry were ones I did, the Hierophant is from the Thoth tarot deck painted by Lady Frieda Harris.

Leave a Reply

