Statement Regarding Montreal Show

Regarding the show with Seth David Tobocman tonight at the Anarchist Book Fair in Montreal, I want to post this message that Eric had passed along for Seth to read:

Greetings from NYC! This is Eric Blitz; Both myself and J. Gonzalez-Blitz are sorry that we will not be performing tonight as the Direct Action Ensemble with Seth Tobocman. I was at this time denied a renewal of my passport. Such are the times we live in, and just like the work you will see and hear tonight, times like this have happened before over the years. My words to you are “The struggle continues”, “Power to the people” and as Seth can further elaborate, Make shit happen” Whenever there have been times like these, the word and the creations of artists of all disciplines get attacked.

I have worked with Seth since the early 2000’s, though we both come from the NYC art, music and activist underground of the early and mid 1980’s. enduring both good and bad. Tonight both J. and I want you to to actively watch and listen to the work in the great French issue of “War in the neighborhood” and decide for yourself if it is time to review the past, learn from it, and bring YOUR new…for the future which is NOW! MERCI!!!!!

In Solidarity
Eric Blitz
J.G.B.

Also the passport guy looked something up and I’m marked as posting “incendiary art”? YOU post incendiary art! :p

Nah, just kidding, I’m sure something I drew could be taken in that manner or some shit, but FFS art isn’t SUPPOSED to be safe. Unless you want to spend you life drawing Hallmark cards and Summer’s Eve boxes or something. I dunno.

Leave a Reply

